Literary Process: What Spaces Might Open?

I thought that being inside would protect me, with its corners and its curtains, then a kindness took me by the throat and stretched me taut against the sky, beaming, and I found something more valuable than protection. If only you could have seen it, Mother. What light. – from Sift, by Alissa Hattman, 2023

In the following short video, Portland author, Alissa Hattman shares thoughts on the process of writing her critically acclaimed debut novel, Sift. Called a “lush and lyrical vision of growth amid environmental catastrophe” by author Thea Prieto (From the Caves), “Sift shows us how to grieve the past while nurturing new human connections and shared, regenerative landscapes.”

A short video by Portland writer/musician Tai Woodville.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literary Process: What Spaces Might Open?

Leave a comment